Return to Headlines

Secretary of Education to honor 79 seniors for outstanding academic achievement

Delaware public high schools’ top students will be honored Monday as exemplary scholars of the graduating Class of 2014 at the annual Secretary of Education’s Scholars Dinner at Dover Downs Hotel in Dover.

The state’s political and education leaders will gather at 6 p.m. to celebrate the students’ achievements and wish them well as they enter careers or continue their education at some of the nation’s top colleges and universities. Nominated by their principals, the scholars were selected for their academic excellence and community service.

“These young people have worked hard to excel in and out of the classroom,” Secretary of Education Mark Murphy said. “Not only have they challenged themselves with rigorous courses but they also have balanced these academic demands with school leadership, community service and employment obligations. This is an opportunity to celebrate their hard work and outstanding accomplishments.”

The 2014 Secretary’s Scholars are:

  • Appoquinimink School District: Mehreen Haque, Jingcheng Lu and Ryan Taylor, Appoquinimink High School; Amber Celen and Jason Mulderrig, Middletown High School
  • Brandywine School District:  Andrew Gross and Kirstyn Taylor, Brandywine High School; Quan Bui and David Buzdygon, Concord High School; and Gwen Diebold and Varsha Kripalu, Mount Pleasant High School
  • Caesar Rodney School District: Connor Castellon, Patrick Gallucci, Logan Paige and Madison Stark, Caesar Rodney High School
  • Cape Henlopen School District: Nicole Dumigan and Dimple Patel, Cape Henlopen High School
  • Capital School District: Alice Miller, Ifunanya Nwogbaga and Ashley Wong, Dover High School
  • Christina School District:  Gopal Chhibba, and Christine Obeng, Christiana High School; Mackenzie Gurczenski and Elizabeth Hubbs, Glasgow High School;  Vanessa Marianiello, Eric Walker and Kathy Xie, Newark High School
  • Colonial School District:  Lisa Davis, Tara Keller, Devin Nichols and Anastasia Thomas, William Penn High School
  • Delmar School District:  Benjamin Noonan and Dhvani Patel, Delmar High School
  • Indian River School District:  Joshua Kleinstuber and Nell Weaver, Indian River High School; Caitlyn Ash and Mason Chambers, Sussex Central High School
  • Lake Forest School District:  Erin Baker and Shannon Sussman, Lake Forest High School
  • Laurel School District:  Gabrielle Culver and Alyssa Givens, Laurel High School
  • Milford School District:  Robert Clendaniel and Colby Miller, Milford High School
  • New Castle County Vocational-Technical School District: Tahj Boston, Abriel Freeman and Aziza Taylor, Delcastle Technical High School; William Becker, Jr. and Tiddy Mauti, Hodgson Vocational Technical High School; Ryan Palmarella and Eric Wright, Howard High School of Technology; Larissa Rivera-Butler and Amanda Smith, St. Georges Technical High School
  • POLYTECH School District: Allison Brown and Jessica Bursler, POLYTECH High School
  • Red Clay Consolidated School District:  Joyelle Gilbert and Reilly Megee, Cab Calloway School of the Arts; Christopher Catalan and Casey Williams, Conrad Schools of Science; Katerina Seifert and Wai Tang, John Dickinson High School;  Sandra Estrada and Natalie Lantz, Alexis I. duPont High School; Miriam Villalobos and Emily Wagner, Thomas McKean High School
  • Seaford School District:  Alexander Mitan and Caitlin Stanton, Seaford High School
  • Smyrna School District:  Lauren Bowser, Taylor Dixon and Lauren Gaston, Smyrna High School
  • Sussex Technical School District:  Shelby McBroom, Megan Parkhurst and Bansri Patel, Sussex Technical High School
  • Woodbridge School District:  Kirsten Blake and Horacio Reyna, Woodbridge High School
  • Charter: Martin Kurian and Kevin Ye, Charter School of Wilmington
  • Charter: Mark LaRue and Jennifer Shellenberger, Delaware Military Academy
  • Charter: Rachael Georges, Positive Outcomes Charter School