Return to Headlines

Seven Delaware seniors named U.S. Presidential Scholar semifinalists

Seven Delaware students are semifinalists in the 2014 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. From nearly 3.2 million graduating high school seniors, more
than 4,000 students were identified as candidates for the program and 565 were named semifinalists. Up to 141 students will be chosen as 2014 U.S. Presidential Scholars, one of the nation’s highest honors for high school students.

“This is a significant honor, and I congratulate these students for the hard work and perseverance that led to their academic and artistic achievements,”
Secretary of Education Mark Murphy said. “Their school leadership and community involvement also were key factors in their selection. I am proud they will
represent our state.”

This is the program’s 50th Anniversary. The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964 to recognize and honor some of our
nation’s most distinguished graduating seniors. In 1979, it was expanded to also recognize students who demonstrate exceptional scholarship and talent in the
visual, literary and performing arts.

The Commission on U.S. Presidential Scholars will select the winners. As with the semifinalists, the scholars are chosen on the basis of their accomplishments
in academics and the arts, leadership and school/community involvement.

Delaware’s semifinalists are:

Josephine Chu of Wilmington (Tower Hill School)

Mrugesh Dave of Newark (Charter School of Wilmington)

Christine Fu of Newark (Charter School of Wilmington)

Martin Kurian of Hockessin (Charter School of Wilmington)

Abhishek Rao of Newark (Caravel Academy)

Regina Reynolds of Newark (Charter School of Wilmington)

Benjamin Walker of Wilmington (Cab Calloway School of the Arts)

For more information on the program, visit: