Return to Headlines

State champions in sportsmanship winners announced

Thursday, July 19, 2018 - The Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association [DIAA] offers an annual statewide competition in sportsmanship. The member schools compete against a set of ten standards that measure the school community’s commitment to the educational nature of interscholastic athletics. The process is demanding and involves the total school community.  Member schools submit a portfolio that is judged by the Sportsmanship Committee to determine if each school has successfully met the standards.

The award is named in recognition and memory of Mr. Dale Farmer the first Executive Director of the Delaware Secondary Schools Athletic Association and recipient of the DIAA Lifetime Achievement Award in 2016.

The evaluations of this year’s applications are complete and the DIAA Sportsmanship Committee is extremely pleased to announce the 2017 – 2018 DIAA State Champions in Sportsmanship.  Seventeen member schools applied for the award this year and all were judged as winners. Thirty-four different member schools have won this award at least once in the twenty-two year history of the award.

“These schools truly embrace the philosophy of education-based athletics and demonstrate exemplary sportsmanship by their behavior and actions”, said DIAA Sportsmanship Committee Chair Heath Chasanov. “We commend the Sportsmanship Committees of these schools that are constantly promoting the value of sportsmanship and supporting the mission of DIAA.”

The 2017-2018 DIAA State Champions in Sportsmanship:


Brandywine High School (2)

Caesar Rodney High School (8)

Caravel Academy (10)

Charter School of Wilmington (5)

Concord High School (12)

Conrad School of Science (9)

Lake Forest High School (8)

Middletown High School (2)

McKean High School (9)

Mt. Pleasant High School (2)

Newark Charter (3)

Sanford School (7)

Sussex Tech High School (12)

Springer Middle (2)

Tatnall School (4)

William Penn High School (21)

Woodbridge High School (7)


(#) the number indicates the number of years that school has won the Award.


Please contact the DIAA office at 302-857-3365 for any further information