Return to Headlines

State awards more than $145,000 in merit scholarships

Tuesday, June 19, 2018 - The Delaware Department of Education has announced the recipients of four state merit scholarship programs for the 2018-19 academic year. Merit scholarships are competitive and awarded based on a student's academic performance, participation in school activities and service to the community. Students may apply for Delaware merit scholarships in their senior year of high school. All four awards are renewable. Three of the programs are memorial scholarships that honor state legislators and provide full tuition, fees, room, board, and books at the public colleges in Delaware. Those scholarships are:


  • The B. Bradford Barnes Memorial Scholarship, in honor of the former Speaker of the State House of Representatives, is awarded to one student each year enrolling full-time at the University of Delaware. Dana Wilkins, a graduate of Newark Charter School, is the recipient of the B. Bradford Barnes Memorial Scholarship. Wilkins will major in biomedical engineering.


  • The Herman M. Holloway, Sr. Memorial Scholarship, in honor of the first African-American State Senator in Delaware, is awarded to one student each year enrolling full-time at Delaware State University. Carissa Thorne, a graduate of Caesar Rodney High School in the Caesar Rodney School District received the Herman M. Holloway, Sr. Memorial Scholarship. Thorne will major in kinesiology.


  • The Charles L. Hebner Memorial Scholarship, in honor of the former Speaker of the State House of Representatives, is awarded annually to one full-time student at the University of Delaware and one full-time student at Delaware State University who are majoring in the humanities or social sciences. (Preference is given to political science majors.) Caroline Klinger of private Padua Academy, is the recipient of the Charles L. Hebner Memorial Scholarship at University of Delaware. She will major in political science. Malia Brittingham, a homeschool graduate, is the recipient at Delaware State University. She will major in history.


  • The Diamond State Scholarship assists full-time students attending regionally accredited, nonprofit colleges in any state. Winners of the Diamond State Scholarship receive $1,250 per year. For the 2018-19 academic year, 35 students were awarded Diamond State Scholarships. They are listed below by high school:



High school

Silpa Annavarapu

Newark Charter School

Caelan Backus

Seaford Senior High School

Kierstin Blatzheim

Sussex Academy

David Bondi

Archmere Academy

Josh Bredbenner

Worcester Preparatory School

Faith Brown

Charter School of Wilmington

Muhammad Burki

Dickinson (John) High School

Noah Carpe

Salesianum School

Michael Chen

Newark Charter School

Christopher Czerwinski

Newark Charter School

Ryan Dean

MOT Charter

Olivia Duke

Newark Charter School

Joshua Fickes

Charter School of Wilmington

Chloe Frantz

Newark High School

Jessica Goldschlager

Caesar Rodney High School

Melina Hudson

Milford Senior High School

Tyler Imprescia

Polytech High School

Pooja Kaji

Charter School of Wilmington

Joni Kashner

Polytech High School

Sean Kelby

Newark Charter School

Cullen Kisner

Caesar Rodney High School

Naomi Mengel

Tall Oaks Classical School

Maria Morelli

Delmar Senior High School

Timothy Mulderrig

Middletown High School

Romil Patel

Newark Charter School

Ankita Prasad

Newark Charter School

Evan Rosario

Appoquinimink High School

Ryan Singh

Middletown High School

Marshall Smith

Wilmington Christian School

Charlotte Swafford

Mt. Sophia Academy

Ryan Tarr

Appoquinimink High School

Zachary The'

Charter School of Wilmington

Maria van Venrooy

Charter School of Wilmington

Tanvi Venkatesh

Newark Charter School

Sarah Wearden

Caesar Rodney High School