Return to Headlines

DIAA announces athlete award winners

Friday, May 11, 2018 - The Delaware Interscholastic Athletic Association (DIAA) Board of Directors is pleased to announce the winners of the 2018 DIAA/Harry Roberts – Senior Scholar Athlete awards.  The award is named in recognition and memory of Dr. Harry Roberts, former superintendent of the Caesar Rodney School District who served DIAA on several committees, most notably as chair of the DIAA Sportsmanship Committee for many years.


“This was a stellar group of student athletes and choosing from so many qualified candidates was a humbling and difficult task,” said DIAA Board Chairperson Dr. Bradley Layfield  on behalf of the selection Committee. “I cannot remember a more impressive group of young men and women who exemplify the DIAA motto ‘Education through Athletics.’”


“These student-athletes exemplify the outstanding job DIAA member schools are doing in providing a well-rounded educational experiences for Delaware’s young people,” he said.


The awards are presented annually by the DIAA based on the student’s academic, athletic and leadership accomplishments.










Isabelle Pilson, Tower Hill








($1000 each):



Nyra Giles, Laurel


Stephanie Horne, Caesar Rodney

Christina Bourantas, Wilmington Christian









Thomas Pomatto, Caesar Rodney

Second ($1500 each):  


Michael Chen, Newark Charter

Nikhil Mehta, Appoquinimink

Third ($1000 each):  


Miles Petersen, Sanford School

Paul Thompson, Mt. Pleasant


In the history of the awards there have been 107 scholarship recipients, from 33 different member schools with the total amount of money awarded being more than $140,000.