Return to Headlines

Top mathematics, science teachers recognized


The U.S. Department of Education recently announced Delaware’s honorees for the 2014 and 2015 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). Four teachers from Cape Henlopen School District, Capital School District and MOT Charter School received the highest recognition that K-12 mathematics and science teachers can receive for outstanding teaching in the United States..


Four additional teachers – two in math and two in science – are also this year’s 2016 PAEMST finalists for Delaware, earning a chance to become a 2016 math or science awardee later this year.


All Delaware PAEMST finalists and awardees will be honored at a banquet on Thursday, Dec. 1.


Awarded each year by the White House, PAEMST is given to mathematics and science teachers from each of the 50 states and four U.S. jurisdictions. In addition to honoring individual achievement, the goal of the PAEMST award program is to exemplify the highest standards of mathematics and science teaching. Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education.


Every year each state selects up to five mathematics teachers and five science teachers as state finalists. The award alternates between teachers teaching kindergarten through 6th grade and those teaching 7th through 12th grades. Educators are nominated in October and the application process begins in November. 


A national selection committee reviews state finalist applications and selects one awardee in each content area for every state. Teachers are recognized for their contributions to teaching and learning and their ability to help students make progress in mathematics and science. As part of the recognition process, awardees take part in a weeklong series of networking and professional development activities in Washington, D.C., and receive $10,000 from the National Science Foundation.


“We are honored to continue highlighting the great work of Delaware teachers through the Presidential Awards in math and science,” Delaware Secretary of Education Steve Godowsky said. “These educators are role models for their schools, their districts and the state, and we are honored to highlight their achievements.”


The PAEMST award was established by Congress in 1983. It is administered through the National Science Foundation.  For more information about PAEMST and to see nomination forms and applications instructions, visit


Media is welcome to cover the Dec. 1 event. The reception begins at 6:00 p.m., followed by dinner at 6:30 p.m., at the Martin Luther King Jr. Student Center, Delaware State University in Dover.




2014 Awardees



Kristin Gray

Math Specialist & Teaching Channel Laureate

Richard A. Shields Elementary School

Cape Henlopen School District



Kimberly Simmons

Kindergarten Teacher

East Dover Elementary

Capital School District




2015 Awardees



Robin Corrozi          

High School Mathematics

Cape Henlopen High School

Cape Henlopen School District



John C. Scali

Integrated Science and Chemistry Teacher

MOT Charter School



2016 Finalists



Brandy Cooper

6th Grade Mathematics Teacher

Milford Central Academy

Milford School District


Christa Ferdig

5th Grade Elementary Teacher

Long Neck Elementary School

Indian River School District




Leona Williams

Grade 4 Elementary Teacher

Forwood Elementary School

Brandywine School District


Wendy Turner

2nd Grade Elementary Teacher

Mt. Pleasant Elementary School

Brandywine School District


Photos of the educators are available here.

Alison May
(302) 735-4006