Return to Headlines

73 schools to participate in fresh fruit, vegetable program

Seventy-three elementary schools in Delaware will receive funding to participate in the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Fresh Fruit and Vegetable Program during the 2016-2017 school year.  Schools were awarded funding through a competitive application process.  Each year the state receives a grant from the USDA specifically allocated for the program. The state must then select schools to participate, with priority given to schools with the highest free and reduced price enrollment. 


The purpose of the program is to increase fresh fruit and fresh vegetable consumption in elementary schools that participate in the National School Lunch Program. 


“The fruit and vegetable program can be an important catalyst for change in combating childhood obesity by increasing fresh fruit and vegetable consumption and encouraging healthier eating habits,” Secretary of Education Steve Godowsky said.


Selected schools receive reimbursement for the cost of providing free fresh fruits and vegetables to students. These fresh fruits and vegetables must be served separately from the lunch or breakfast meal, in one or more areas of the school during the official school day. Corresponding nutrition education is critical to the program’s success.


Within basic requirements, the program gives schools the flexibility to develop their own implementation plan and involve teachers and other school staff. Each school decides when, where and how to implement the program.


See below for a complete list of schools that received grants.


Academy of Dover

Lake Forest South Elementary

Anna P. Mote Elementary

Long Neck Elementary

Austin D. Baltz Elementary

Lulu M. Ross Elementary

Bancroft Elementary

Maple Lane Elementary

Benjamin Banneker Elementary

Marbrook Elementary

Blades Elementary

May B. Leasure Elementary

Booker T. Washington Elementary

Milton Elementary

Brookside Elementary

Mispillion Elementary

Carrcroft Elementary

N. Georgetown Elementary

Carrie Downie Elementary

N. Smyrna Elementary

Cashmir Pulaski Elementary

Nellie Hughes Stokes Elementary

Castle Hills Elementary

New Castle Elementary

Claymont Elementary

North Dover Elementary

Clayton Elementary

North Laurel Elementary

David Harlan Elementary

Oberle Elementary

E. Millsboro Elementary

Paul Laurence Dunbar Elementary

East Dover Elementary

Phillip C. Showell Elementary

East Side Charter School

Phyllis Wheatley Elementary

Elbert Palmer Elementary

Pleasantville Elementary

Evan G. Shortlidge Elementary

Prestige Academy

Evelyn I. Morris ECS

Rehoboth Elementary

Fairview Elementary

Richard A. Shields Elementary

Family Foundations Charter School

Richardson Park Elementary

Forest Oak Elementary

Robert S. Gallaher Elementary

Frederick Douglass Elementary

Seaford Central Elementary

Georgetown Elementary

Southern Elementary

H.O. Brittingham Elementary

South Dover Elementary

Harry O. Eisenberg Elementary

Stubbs Elementary

Hartly Elementary

Thomas Edison Charter School

Harvest Christian Academy

Towne Point Elementary

Highlands Elementary

W. Reily Brown Elementary

J. Ralph McIlvaine ECS

Warner Elementary

Kathleen H. Wilbur Elementary

West Seaford Elementary

Lake Forest Central Elementary

William Henry Middle School

Lake Forest East Elementary

William Lewis Elementary

Lake Forest North Elementary

Wilmington Manor Elementary


Woodbridge ECEC



Alison May
(302) 735-4006