• Anti-Discrimination Guidance Team

    On July 17 Governor John Carney issued a memorandum to the Delaware Department of Education (DDOE) asking DDOE to develop a regulation and model policy to address potential discrimination in Delaware schools. DDOE has been charged with specifically providing:

    • Guidelines - by regulation - to help districts and charters create consistent policies statewide that prohibit discrimination based on gender, race and/or ethnicity, gender identity or expression, sexual orientation, or any other protected characteristic
    • A model anti-discrimination policy that each district and charter could adopt, or tailor and adopt, to suit the needs of their students

     

    Draft Regulation- 9/20/2017

    Draft Policy - 9/20/2017

    PowerPoint Presentation - Used at the Community Conversations.

    Feedback Survey - Please use this survey to provide feedback on the draft regulation and model policy. 

     

    MEETINGS


    All meetings will be posted on the delaware.gov public calendar, the Department of Education website and Legislative Calendar.
    Development Team meetings:
    • Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 6:30pm - 8pm
    • Tuesday, September 12, 2017 - 6:30pm - 8pm
    • Tuesday, September 19, 2017 - 3pm - 5pm
    • Tuesday, October 10, 2017 - 3pm - 5pm

    Townsend Building
    401 Federal St
    Dover DE 19901
    Cabinet Room - 2nd Floor

    Community Conversations:

    Public feedback on the anti-discrimination regulation and model policy will take place during the following community conversations in each county and the City of Wilmington:

     

    COMMITTEE


    The Anti-Discrimination Development Team will review, advise and provide feedback on a draft anti-discrimination regulation and model policy that has been developed, that can then be shared by the larger stakeholder audience.

     

    Development Team Members

    Name

    Role

    Email

    Patrik Williams

    Superintendent - Smyrna SD

    Patrik.Williams@smyrna.k12.de.us

    Robert Fulton

    Superintendent - Cape Henlopen SD

    Robert.fulton@cape.k12.de.us

    Mark Holodick

    Superintendent - Brandywine SD

    Mark.Holodick@bsd.k12.de.us

    Greg Meece

    Charter School Leader - Newark Charter School

    Gregory.Meece@ncs.k12.de.us 

    Andrea Rashbaum

    Parent - New Castle County

    Andrea.Rashbaum@colonial.k12.de.us

    Terri Hodges

    Parent - Kent County

    terri.hodges@delawarepta.org

    Celeste Andrews

    Parent - Sussex County

    Celestea05@aol.com

    Janis Hanwell

    Board member - Sussex Co.

    Janis.hanwell@itnsoutherndelaware.org

    Lucy Kennedy

    Board member - 

    New Castle Co.

    toprn18@aol.com

    Ralph Taylor

    Board Member - Kent Co.

    Ralph.taylor@capital.k12.de.us

    Charles Sheppard

    Principal - Wm Henry Middle School - Capital SD

    charles.sheppard@capital.k12.de.us

    Jennifer Nauman

    Principal - Shields Elementary - Cape Henlopen

    jennifer.nauman@cape.k12.de.us

    Shanta Reynolds

    Principal - St. Georges HS

    Shanta.reynolds@nccvt.k12.de.us

    Mark Purpura

    Advocate

    purpura@rlf.com

    Susan Bunting

    Secretary of Education

    Susan.bunting@doe.k12.de.us

    Three student members are also participating. Due to age, student names and information have been omitted.