Educational Technology Task Force

Senate Concurrent Resolution 22

In May 2015, Senate Concurrent Resolution (SCR) 22 established a Task Force on educational technology in Delaware to ensure that all Delaware students have access to modern and effective educational technologies that enhance learning and promote college and career readiness. [ Full Legislation ]

Task Force Members
Task Force members at an August 10, 2015 meeting.


Report of findings and recommendations regarding state Educational Technology in Delaware public schools. Developed by the Delaware Task Force on State Educational Technology, as outlined in Senate Concurrent Resolution 22.


All meetings are held at 4:30pm at the Delaware Department of Education, Townsend Building, Cabinet Room, 401 Federal Street, Dover, DE  19901. [ Get Directions ]
Thursday, July 9, 2015 
Monday, August 10, 2015   
  • Agenda [ pdf ]
  • Proposed Future Meeting Dates [ pdf ]  
  • Audio (mp3) [ Section 1 Section 2 ]
  • Minutes [ pdf
    • Assistive Technology Subcommittee [ pdf ]
    • Infrastructure and Governance [ pdf ]
    • Teaching and Learning [ pdf ]
Monday, September 14, 2015   
Thursday, October 8, 2015 
Monday, November 9, 2015 

Please Note: The Thursday, December 10, 2015 meeting has been canceled.

Monday, January 11, 2016

Please Note: The Thursday, February 11, 2016 meeting has been canceled.

Wednesday, February 24, 2016
  • Agenda [ pdf ]
  • Audio (mp3) [ Section 1 Section 2 ]
  • Minutes [ pdf ]
    • Assistive Technology Subcommittee   (No Notes Taken. Worked on Google.doc live.)
    • Infrastructure and Governance   (No Notes Taken. Worked on Google.doc live.)
    • Teaching and Learning    (No Notes Taken. Worked on Google.doc live.)
Next Meeting: Wednesday, March 16, 2016


Committee members have been encouraged to review the following resources:


Born in Another Time: Ensuring Educational Technology Meets the Needs of Students Today - and Tomorrow
This report from NASBE’s Study Group on the Role of Technology in Schools and Communities focuses on three major areas of concern around schools and technology: 1) addressing the voice and needs of  today’s students; 2) ensuring educators can use technology in meeting the needs of today’s students; and 3) educational technology infrastructure—preparing for the technology of the future. The Study Group’s recommendations for state policymakers are included.

Delaware Educational Technology Plans  (Archive)
Previous Delaware Educational Technology Plans from FY1997 to FY2005.

Transforming American Education: Learning Powered by Technology  
(2010 National Education Technology Plan)

The National Education Technology Plan (NETP) recognizes that technology is at the core of virtually every aspect of our daily lives and work, and we must leverage it to provide engaging and powerful learning experiences and content, as well as resources and assessments that measure student achievement in more complete, authentic, and meaningful ways. The NETP presents a model of learning powered by technology, with goals and recommendations in five essential areas: learning, assessment, teaching, infrastructure, and productivity. The plan also identifies far-reaching “grand challenge” R&D problems that should be funded and coordinated at a national level.  



Delaware SCR 22 requires specific committee members, as determined by the Delaware House and Senate. Committee members and the legislative designation they represent are listed below:


Michael Watson - Chief Academic Officer/Associate Secretary of Education, Delaware Department of Education

Business and/or Technology Expertise
Dr. Michele Brewer - Assistant Professor, Technology Chair, Wilmington University

Charter School Network
Patrick Liberato - Technology Coordinator, Charter School of Wilmington

Controller General
Kimberly Reinagel-Nietubicz - Chief of Fiscal and Policy Analysis

Delaware Association of State Administrators
Dr. Ted Ammann – Assist. Superintendent, Red Clay Consolidated School District

Delaware Chiefs Association
Dr. Dusty Blakey - Superintendent - Colonial School District
Dr. Kevin Fitzgerald - Superintendent - Caesar Rodney School District
Robert Fulton - Superintendent - Cape Henlopen School District
Steven Mancini - Supervisor, Inform. & Inst. Technology, New Castle County Vo-Tech

Delaware State Education Association
Ms. Patricia Dallas – Teacher, Red Clay Consolidated School District
Megan Szabo - Delaware's 2015 Teacher of the Year, Caesar Rodney School District

Department of Technology and Information (DTI)
Colleen Gause – Telecommunications, Delaware Department of Technology and Information

Digital Learning Cadre
Michael League - Instructional Technology Coach, Indian River School District

Governor's Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens
Dr. Beth Mineo - Director, Center for Disabilities Studies, University of Delaware

House Education Committee
Rep. Tim Dukes - House Education Committee

Special Education Officer of the Department of Education
Matthew Korobkin - Special Education Officer, Delaware Department of Education

Office of Management and Budget
Elizabeth Lewis - Associate Fiscal & Policy Analyst, Office of Management and Budget

Senate Education Committee
Sen. Bryan Townsend - Senate Education Committee

State Board of Education
Randy Reynolds - Information Technology Supervisor, Cape Henlopen School District

Support Resources

Pat Bush - Delaware Department of Education

Wayne Hartschuh - Delaware Department of Education

Pam Reed - Delaware Department of Education