• CTE and Perkins Plan Information

    Perkins V and CTE Subcommittee Overview

    The State Board of Education (SBE) is the "eligible state agency" (Title 14, Chapter 33. § 3310) authorized under the Carl D. Perkins Career & Technical Education Act of 2006 and is responsible for leading the state plan development, establishing administrative and evaluation routines, providing oversight of the distribution of federal funds, and coordinating activities with the State Workforce Development Board related to career and technical education programs in the State of Delaware.

    On July 31, 2018, President Trump signed the Strengthening Career and Technical Education (CTE) for the 21st Century Act (referred to as Perkins V) into law. The new law will go into effect on July 1, 2019, and the first year of implementation will be considered a "transition year". The eligible state agency is required to submit a one-year transition plan prior to April 30, 2019. Once approved in July 2019, the eligible state agency will be required to develop a full four-year state plan, covering the requirements of the Act, to be submitted by April 2020. The full four-year state plan will encompass program years 2020 (SY 2020-2021) to 2024 (SY 2024-2025).

    The SBE has established a CTE Subcommittee to provide guidance and technical assistance to the SBE and the Delaware Department of Education (DDOE) staff who supervise Career & Technical Education (CTE) as required under Perkins V. As such, the CTE Subcommittee will:

    • Participate in a series of informational and development meetings;
    • Define methods of technical assistance and engagement with various stakeholder groups, local education agencies, and postsecondary institutions;
    • Communicate subcommittee initiatives to various stakeholder groups, local education agencies, and postsecondary institutions;
    • Facilitate state-wide collaboration meetings between the subcommittee and various stakeholder groups through both face-to-face and online formats; and
    • Review and provide feedback to the SBE and DDOE on the development of a transition plan to be submitted in 2019 and the full four-year state plan to be submitted in 2020.

    Final approval of the transition plan and full four-year state plan will be coordinated with the Office of Governor John Carney.
    The following representatives have agreed to participate in the CTE Subcommittee:

    • Vince Lofink, Delaware State Board of Education
    • James Ascione, Building Trades
    • Tony Alleyne, Delaware College Scholars
    • Liz Bartle, Delaware State Chamber of Commerce
    • Suzanne L. Barton, University of Delaware
    • Matthew Burrows, Appoquinimink School District
    • Anthony Carmen, Sussex Tech High School
    • Ed Capodanno, ABC Delaware
    • Ashley Carrow, Smyrna High School
    • Manera Constantine, Delaware Advisory Council on Career and Technical Education
    • Jodine Cybulski, Polytech High School
    • Jennifer Davis, Department of Education
    • Vicki Gehrt, New Castle County Vo-Tech School District
    • Warren Howell, parent
    • Betsy Jones, Polytech School District
    • Sherry Kijowski, Caesar Rodney High School
    • Stacey Laing, Delaware Department of Labor
    • Senator Elizabeth Lockman, Delaware State Senate
    • Sara Moore, La Colectiva de Delaware
    • Bill Potter, Delaware Workforce Development Board
    • Denise Purnell-Cuff, Delaware Services for Children, Youth, and Their Families
    • Luke Rhine, Department of Education
    • Justina Sapna, Delaware Technical & Community College
    • Jon Sheehan, Office of the Governor
    • Mark Stellini, Assurance Media
    • Michelle Taylor, United Way of Delaware
    • June Wicks, Smyrna School District
    • Representative Kimberly Williams, Delaware House of Representatives

    Additional membership to be solicited from the following stakeholder groups: Delaware State University, Delaware Charter Schools Network

    Meeting Materials

    Meeting materials will be uploaded to the State Board of Education eBoard site.

    Perkins V Transition Plan

    The draft Perkins V Transition Plan was shared with the State Board of Education at their March 21, 2019 meeting. The draft Transition Plan was posted for public comment from March 22, 2019 through April 10, 2019. Public comment received can be found here. The Board will take action on the plan at their April 18, 2019 meeting.


Last Modified on April 12, 2019