• Special Education Strategic Plan Advisory Council

    The goal of the Special Education Strategic Plan Advisory Council is to develop a statewide plan that addresses the delivery of special education within Delaware through a review of existing evidence and within the context of a representative stakeholder process.

    All children with disabilities can reach their full potential through a student-centered, individualized education system using a collaborative and supportive model. By asking stakeholders to lead collaboration between schools, families, and communities, Delaware will create inclusive education to ensure student success and growth, and equity of special education and related services across Delaware.


    October 2017: Strategic Plan



    All meetings will be posted on the Delaware Public Calendar.
    Advisory Council Meetings:
    • Tuesday, October 24, 2017 - 8:30am - 3pm

    Appoquinimink Board Room
    Marion E. Proffitt Training Center
    118 South Sixth Street
    Odessa, DE  19730 



    Advisory Council members:

    Co-chair - Dr. Michele Marinucci, Woodbridge School District

    Co-chair - Bill Doolittle, Parent Advocate

    Dafne Carnright, Autism Delaware

    Edward Emmett, Positive Outcomes Charter School

    Katheryn Herel, PIC of Delaware

    Jon Cooper, Colonial School District

    Kendall Massett, Delaware Charter School Rep.

    Rep. Kim Williams, Legislator

    Kristin Dwyer, DSEA

    Kristin Pidgeon, Down Syndrome Association

    Dr. Lisa Lawson, Brandywine School District

    Mary Ann Mieczkowski, Department of Education

    Dr. Sarah Celestin, Red Clay Consolidated School District

    Dr. Vincent Winterling, Delaware Autism Program

    Wendy Strauss, GACEC

    Annalisa Ekbladh, University of Delaware CDS

    Dr. John Marinucci, DASB

    Sonya Lawrence, Parent Advocate

    Teresa Avery, Autism Delaware

    Laurie Kettle-Rivera, Delaware School for the Deaf

    Mark Campano, Delaware Statewide Programs

    Dr. Josette McCullough, Appoquinimink School District

    Mondaria Batchelor, Woodbridge School District



    Special Education Strategic Plan Goals:

    Goal Area


    Sub-Group Members


    To increase the success of students with disabilities by improving their ability to become active, valued, and participating members of their community, today and in the future

    Ed Emmett-Lead

    Lisa Lawson

    Bill Doolittle

    Sonya Lawrence

    Wendy Strauss

    Staff/ Partners

    To have a highly engaged and effective workforce with appropriate values, skills, and knowledge for today - and tomorrow's - work.

    Elisha Jenkins-Lead

    Mark Campano

    Annalisa Ekbach

    Josette McCullough

    Kristin Dwyer

    Kathie Herel

    Delivery Structure/ Systems

    1) To make available the same array of evidence based practices and models of service deliveries regardless of a student's placement. 2) To modify delivery system to facilitate the achievement of other goals.

    Mark Campano-Lead

    Vince Winterling

    Dafne Carnright

    Sarah Celestin

    Jon Cooper

    Kristin Pidgeon

    Sonya Lawrence

    Parents / Families

    To increase the engagement with parents and families as partners in collaboration to support their children at home and at school with access and knowledge of the resources they need.

    Josette McCullough-Lead

    Annalisa Ekbach

    Kristin Pidgeon

    Kathie Herel


    To acquire more resources as needed and maximize the efficiency in use of our existing resources

    Kristin Dwyer-Lead

    Michele Marinucci

    Teresa Avery

    Laurie Kettle-Rivera

    Mary Ann Mieczkowski

    Policy/ Regulations

    To add, delete, and modify policies and regulations to support our current and future goals and objectives.

    Dafne Carnright-Lead

    John Marinucci

    Mondaria Batchelor

    Michele Marinucci

    Kim Williams

    Bill Doolittle

    Mary Ann Mieczkowski


    To increase the levels of support and collaboration through engagement and education.

    Kendall Massett-Lead

    John Marinucci

    Teresa Avery

    Lisa Lawson

    Elisha Jenkins