• Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST)

    Awarded by the White House each year, the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) is the highest recognition a K-12 mathematics or science teacher can receive for outstanding teaching in the United States. In addition to honoring individual achievement, the goal of the award program is to exemplify the highest standards of mathematics and science teaching. Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education.

    Awards are given to mathematics and science teachers from each of the 50 states and four U.S. jurisdictions. Each state selects up to three mathematics teachers and three science teachers annually as state finalists. Educators are nominated in October and the application process begins in November.

    A national selection committee reviews state finalist applications and selects one awardee in each content area for every state. Teachers are recognized for their contributions to teaching and learning and their ability to help students make progress in mathematics and science. As part of the recognition process, awardees take part in a weeklong series of networking and professional development activities in Washington, D.C., and receive $10,000 from the National Science Foundation.

    2016 Finalists

    brandy cooper

    Brandy Cooper

    th Grade Mathematics  
    Milford Central Academy 
    Milford School District
    christa ferdig

    Christa Ferdig

    5th Grade Elementary
    Long Neck Elementary Indian River School District
    leona williams

    Leona Williams

    Grade 4 Elementary Forwood Elementary Brandywine School District

    wendy turner

    Wendy Turner

    nd Grade Elementary
    Mt. Pleasant Elementary Brandywine School District

    2015 Awardees

    robin corrozi

    Robin Corrozi

    High School Mathematics
    Cape Henlopen High School
    Cape Henlopen School District
    john c. scali

    John C. Scali

    Integrated Science and Chemistry Teacher

    MOT Charter School

    2014 Awardees

    kristin gray

    Kristin Gray

    Math Specialist & Teaching Channel Laureate
    Richard A. Shields Elementary School
    Cape Henlopen School District
    kimberly simmons

    Kimberly Simmons

    Kindergarten Teacher
    East Dover Elementary
    Capital School District
Last Modified on May 15, 2020