HealthierUS School Challenge: Smarter Lunchroom

  • 2011 Delaware HUSSC Schools at White House
    2011 Delaware HUSSC Schools Recognized by the First Lady at White House Reception

  • First Lady Michelle Obama introduced “Let’s Move!” in 2010 in an effort to raise a healthier generation of children. The HealthierUS School Challenge, now called the HealthierUS School Challenge: Smarter Lunchroom, was part of the Let’s Move! Campaign.

    HUSSC: SL is a voluntary certification initiative that recognizes schools enrolled in Team Nutrition that have created healthier school environments through their promotion of nutrition and physical education/activity.

    To date, HUSSC: SL awards have been given to schools in 50 states and the District of Columbia. As of June 27, 2016, there are 5,100 schools certified (3,565 Bronze, 1,016 Silver, 320 Gold, and 200 Gold of Distinction.

    HUSSC: SL materials, resources, and application can be accessed at

    HUSSC: SL schools in Delaware include:  

    HealthierUS School Challenge: Smarter Lunchroom Awards

    Updated 12/2/16

    Appoquinimink School District

    (11/2016 - 11/2020)

    Alfred G. Waters Middle School (Bronze)

    Appoquinimink High School (Bronze)

    Brick Mill Elementary School (Bronze)

    Bunker Hill Elementary School (Bronze)

    Cedar Lane Early Childhood Center (Bronze) 

    Cedar Lane Elementary School (Bronze)

    Everett Meredith Middle School (Bronze)

    Louis L. Redding Middle School (Bronze)

    Middletown High School (Bronze)

    Old State Elementary School (Bronze)

    Olive B. Loss Elementary School (Bronze)

    Silver Lake Elementary School (Bronze)

    Spring Meadow Early Childhood Center (Bronze)

    Townsend Early Childhood Center (Bronze)

    Townsend Elementary School (Bronze)

    Christina School District

    (11/2016 - 11/2020)

    Etta J. Wilson Elementary School (Silver)

    Red Clay Consolidated School District

    (11/2016 - 11/2020)

    Alexis I. DuPont High School (Silver)

    Anna P. Mote Elementary School (Silver)

    Austin D. Baltz Elementary School (Silver)

    Brandywine Springs School (Bronze)

    Cab Calloway School of the Art (Bronze)

    Conrad Schools of Science (Bronze)

    Evan G. Shortlidge Elementary School (Silver)

    Forest Oak Elementary School (Silver)

    Henry B. DuPont Middle School (Silver)

    Heritage Elementary School (Bronze)

    John Dickinson High School (Silver)

    Linden Hill Elementary School (Bronze)

    Marbrook Elementary School (Silver)

    McKean High School (Silver)

    North Star Elementary School (Bronze)

    Richardson Park Elementary and Learning Center (Silver

    Skyline  Middle School (Silver)

    Stanton Middle School (Gold)

    Warner Elementary School (Silver)

    William C. Lewis Dual Language Elementary School (Silver)

    William Cooke Jr. Elementary School (Bronze)

    Colonial School District

    (6/2016 - 6/2020) 

    Carrie Downie Elementary School (Gold)

    Calvin R. McCullough Middle School (Gold)

    Castle Hills Elementary School (Gold)

    Harry O. Eisenberg Elementary School (Gold)

    George Read Middle School (Gold)

    Gunning Bedford Middle School (Gold)

    Kathleen H. Wilbur Elementary School (Gold)

    New Castle Elementary School (Gold)

    Pleasantville Elementary School (Gold)

    Southern Elementary School (Gold)

    The Wallin School (Bronze)

    Wilmington Manor Elementary School (Gold)

    William Penn High School (Gold)

    Campus Community Charter School

    (5/2016 - 5/2020)

    Campus Community Charter School (Silver)

    Seaford School District

    (2/2016 - 2/2020)

    Blades Elementary School (Silver)

    Frederick Douglass Elementary School (Silver)

    Seaford Middle School (Silver)

    Seaford Central Elementary School (Silver)

    West Seaford Elementary School (Silver)

  • Contact Information:

    Karen L. Giery, SNS
    Field Agent, School Nutrition Programs
    Delaware Department of Education
    35 Commerce Way, Suite 1
    Dover, DE 19901
    Phone: 302-857-3318
Last Modified on February 21, 2018