Local Homeless Education Liaisons

  • Local homeless education liaisons are Local Educational Agency (LEA) staff responsible for ensuring the identification, school enrollment, attendance, and opportunities for academic success of students in homeless situations. Some of these activities may be performed by the local liaison himself or herself, while others are accomplished by coordinating the efforts of other staff.

    Every LEA, otherwise known as school district, must designate an appropriate staff person as a local homeless education liaison. This person may also be a coordinator for other federal programs.

    Local liaisons must ensure that:

    • Children and youth in homeless situations are identified by school personnel and through coordination activities with other entities and agencies.

    • Students experiencing homelessness enroll, and have full and equal opportunity to succeed, in school.

    • Families, children, and youth experiencing homelessness receive educational services for which they are eligible, including Head Start, Even Start, and preschool programs administered by the LEA; and referrals to health, mental health, dental, and other appropriate services.

    • Parents or guardians of students experiencing homelessness are informed of educational and related opportunities available to their children and are provided with meaningful opportunities to participate in the education of their children.

    • Public notice of the educational rights of students in homeless situations is disseminated where children and youth receive services.

    • Enrollment disputes are mediated in accordance with the Enrollment Disputes section of the McKinney-Vento Act.

    • Parents, guardians and unaccompanied youth experiencing homelessness are fully informed of all transportation services provided under the McKinney-Vento Act, including transportation to the school of origin, and are assisted in accessing these services.

    Local liaisons must:

    • Assist homeless children and youth who do not have immunizations or immunization or medical records to obtain necessary immunizations or immunization or medical records.

    • Help unaccompanied youth choose and enroll in a school, after considering the youths’ wishes, and provide youth with notice of their right to appeal an enrollment decision that is contrary to their wishes.

    • Ensure that unaccompanied youth are enrolled in school immediately pending the resolution of any dispute that may arise over school enrollment or placement.

    • Collaborate and coordinate with State Coordinators for Homeless Education and community and school personnel responsible for the provision of education and related services to children and youth in homeless situations.

Homeless Liaison Directory

District or Charter School Liaison Name Phone Number Email
Academia Antonia Alonso Wilma Almonte wilma.almonterosario@academia.k12.de.us 351-8200
Academy of Dover Chavonne Stewart chavonne.stewart@aod.k12.de.us 674-0684
Appoquinimink Eunice Deputy eunice.deputy@appo.k12.de.us 376-4117
Brandywine Pamela (PJ) Facciolo pamela.facciolo@bsd.k12.de.us 761-7420
Caesar Rodney Tamara Toles-Torain tamara.tolesterain@cr.k12.de.us 698-4800
Campus Community Howard Kimmel howard.kimmel@ccs.k12.de.us 736-0403
Cape Henlopen David McDowell david.mcdowell@cape.k12.de.us 645-6686
Capital (7-12) Shameka Johnson shameka.johnson@capital.k12.de.us 857-4238
Capital (K-6) Rod Fesel rod.fesel@capital.k12.de.us 857-4225
Charter School of New Castle Teri Andrews-Cordrey teri.andrews-cordrey@va.k12.de.us 324-8901
Charter School of New Castle Cynthia Brown cynthia.brown@va.k12.de.us 324-8901
Charter School of Wilmington Jonathan Gillespie jgillespie@charterschool.org 651-2727
Christina Angeleatha (Angie) McAdoo angeleatha.mcadoo@christina.k12.de.us 552-2679
Colonial Nicole Markey nicole.markey@colonial.k12.de.us 323-2700
DE Academy of Public Safety Kimberly Whyte kim.whyte@dapss.k12.de.us 302-322-6050
DE Design Lab High Avery Sherrod avery.sherrod@design-lab.k12.de.us 292-5450
DE Military Academy Debra Certesio debra.certesio@dma.k12.de.us 998-0745
Delmar Sally Irwin sally.irwin@delmar.k12.de.us 846-9544
Early College High School at DSU Tawanna Prophet-Brinkley tawanna.prophetbrink@echs.k12.de.us 678-3247
East Side Charter Ashley Widdoes ashley.widdoes@va.k12.de.us 762-5834
First State Military Academy Susan Kane susan.kane@fsmilitary.k12.de.us 223-2150
First State Montessori Courtney Fox courtney.fox@fsma.k12.de.us 576-1500
Freire Charter School Felicia Wenell felicia.wenell@freirecharterschool.org 521-0432
Gateway Lab School Emily Cathell emily.cathell@gls.k12.de.us 633-4091
Great Oaks Charter School Patrick Ryan patrick.ryan@GOWil.k12.de.us 332-6110
Indian River Walter Smith walter.smith@irsd.k12.de.us 436-1000
Kuumba Academy Douglas Cuffy douglas.cuffy@kuumba.k12.de.us 660-4750
Lake Forest Robert Murphy robert.murphy@lf.k12.de.us 284-3020
Las Americas Aspira Academy Lilia Meredith lilia.meredith@laaa.k12.de.us 292-1463
Laurel Susan Whaley susan.whaley@laurel.k12.de.us 875-6155
Milford Craig Warrington cwarring@msd.k12.de.us 424-6470
MOT Charter Allison Banbury allison.banbury@mot.k12.de.us 376-5125
New Castle Co. VoTech Debbie Dolde debbie.dolde@nccvt.k12.de.us 995-8035
Newark Charter Wendy Boonin wendy.boonin@ncs.k12.de.us 369-2001
Odyssey Charter Courtney Papanicolas Courtney.Papanicolas@Odyssey.k12.de.us 994-6490
Polytech Vienna Walker vienna.walker@polytech.k12.de.us 697-3255
Positive Outcomes Julie Landis julie.landis@pocs.k12.de.us 697-8805
Providence Creek Academy Trina Willey trina.willey@pca.k12.de.us 653-6276
Red Clay Consolidated April Anderson april.anderson@redclay.k12.de.us 552-3714
Seaford Jean Briggs jbriggs@seaford.k12.de.us 629-4587 x2239
Smyrna Pamela Denney-Griffiths pamela.denney-griffiths@smyrna.k12.de.us 653-3135
Sussex Academy Marilou Conlin marilou.conlin@saas.k12.de.us 856-3636
Sussex Technical Carlos Villa cvilla@sussexvt.k12.de.us 856-0961 x298
Thomas A. Edison Essence Stewart essence.stewart@tecs.k12.de.us 778-1101
Woodbridge Mondaria Batchelor mondaria.batchelor@wsd.k12.de.us 337-7990
Woodbridge Michele Marinucci michele.marinucci@wsd.k12.de.us 337-7990