Local Homeless Education Liaisons

District or Charter School Liaison Name Liaison Phone Number Liaison Email
Academia Antonia Alonso Wilma Almonte Rosario 302-351-8200 Wilma.AlmonteRosario@academia.k12.de.us
Academy of Dover Daniel Jones 302-674-0684 Daniel.Jones@AOD.k12.de.us
Appoquinimink Eunice Deputy 302-376-4117 Eunice.Deputy@appo.k12.de.us
Brandywine (6-12) Lorraine James 302-761-7420 Lorraine.James@bsd.k12.de.us
Brandywine (K-5) Dawn Hall 302-762-7165 Dawn.Hall@bsd.k12.de.us
Caesar Rodney Tamara Toles-Torain 302-698-4800 Tamara.TolesTorain@cr.k12.de.us
Campus Community Gamalier Colon 302-736-0403 Gamalier.Colon@CCS.k12.de.us
Cape Henlopen David McDowell 302-645-6686 David.McDowell@cape.k12.de.us
Capital (7-12) Shameka Johnson 302-857-4238 Shameka.Johnson@capital.k12.de.us
Capital (K-6) Rod Fesel 302-857-4225 Rod.Fesel@capital.k12.de.us
Charter School of New Castle Teri Andrews-Cordrey 302-324-8901 Teri.Andrews-Cordrey@csnc.k12.de.us
Charter School of Wilmington Xuan Bui 302-651-2727 XBui@charterschool.org
Christina Angeleatha (Angie) McAdoo 302-552-2679 Angeleatha.McAdoo@christina.k12.de.us
Colonial Edward Stephan 302-832-6280 Edward.Stephan@colonial.k12.de.us
DE Military Academy Debra Certesio 302-998-0745 Debra.Certesio@dma.k12.de.us
Delmar Sally Irwin 302-846-9544 Sally.Irwin@delmar.k12.de.us
Early College High School at DSU Tawanna Prophet-Brinkley 302-678-3247 Tawanna.ProphetBrink@echs.k12.de.us
East Side Charter Ashley Widdoes 302-762-5834 Ashley.Widdoes@va.k12.de.us
First State Military Academy Susanna Lawson 302-223-2153 Susanna.Lawson@fsmilitary.k12.de.us
First State Montessori Tracy Long 302-576-1500 Tracy.Long@fsma.k12.de.us
Freire Charter School Cheryl Wagner 302-893-3847 Cheryl.Wagner@freirewlmington.org
Gateway Lab School Emily Cathell 302-530-6873 Emily.Cathell@gls.k12.de.us
Great Oaks Charter School Bridget Strupczewski 302-660-4790 x2 bstrup@greatoakscharter.org
Indian River Walter Smith 302-436-1000 Walter.Smith@irsd.k12.de.us
Kuumba Academy Ken Brown 302-472-6450 kbrown@kacsde.org
Lake Forest Robert Murphy 302-284-3020 Robert.Murphy@lf.k12.de.us
Las Americas Aspira Academy Lilia Meredith 302-292-1463 Lilia.Meredith@laaa.k12.de.us
Laurel Susan Whaley 302-875-6100 x213 Susan.Whaley@laurel.k12.de.us
Milford Craig Warrington 302-422-1600 x222 CWarring@msd.k12.de.us
MOT Charter Mitch Weiss 302-696-2000 Mitch.Weiss@mot.k12.de.us
New Castle Co. VoTech Debbie Dolde 302-995-8035 Debbie.Dolde@nccvt.k12.de.us
Newark Charter Wendy Boonin 302-369-2001 Wendy.Boonin@ncs.k12.de.us
Odyssey Charter Courtney Papanicolas 302-994-6490 Courtney.Papanicolas@Odyssey.k12.de.us
Polytech Shervaun Hinton 302-697-3255 Shervaun.Hinton@polytech.k12.de.us
Positive Outcomes Julie Landis 302-697-8805 Julie.Landis@pocs.k12.de.us
Providence Creek Academy Trina Willey 302-653-6276 Trina.Willey@pca.k12.de.us
Red Clay Consolidated April Anderson 302-552-3714 April.Anderson@redclay.k12.de.us
Seaford Jean Briggs 302-629-4587 x1575 Jean.Briggs@seaford.k12.de.us
Smyrna Pamela Denney-Griffiths 302-653-3135 Pamela.Denney-Griffiths@smyrna.k12.de.us
Sussex Academy Marilou Conlin 302-856-3636 Marilou.Conlin@saas.k12.de.us
Sussex Technical Carlos Villa 302-856-0961 x298 Carlos.Villa@sussexvt.k12.de.us
Thomas A. Edison Dana Thompkins 302-778-1101 Dana.Thompkins@tecs.k12.de.us
Woodbridge Kevin Long 302-337-7990 Kevin.Long@wsd.k12.de.us
  • Local district and charter school homeless education liaisons are responsible for ensuring the identification, school enrollment, attendance, and opportunities for academic success of students in homeless situations. Some of these activities may be performed by the local liaison himself or herself, while others are accomplished by coordinating the efforts of other staff.

    Every school district and charter school must designate an appropriate staff person as a local homeless education liaison. This person may also be a coordinator for other federal programs.

    Local homeless education liaisons must ensure that:

    • Children and youth in homeless situations are identified by school personnel and through coordination activities with other entities and agencies.

    • Students experiencing homelessness enroll, and have full and equal opportunity to succeed, in school.

    • Families, children, and youth experiencing homelessness receive educational services for which they are eligible, including Head Start, Even Start, and preschool programs administered by the LEA; and referrals to health, mental health, dental, and other appropriate services.

    • Parents or guardians of students experiencing homelessness are informed of educational and related opportunities available to their children and are provided with meaningful opportunities to participate in the education of their children.

    • Public notice of the educational rights of students in homeless situations is disseminated where children and youth receive services.

    • Enrollment disputes are mediated in accordance with the Enrollment Disputes section of the McKinney-Vento Act.

    • Parents, guardians and unaccompanied youth experiencing homelessness are fully informed of all transportation services provided under the McKinney-Vento Act, including transportation to the school of origin, and are assisted in accessing these services.

    Local homeless education liaisons must:

    • Assist homeless children and youth who do not have immunizations or immunization or medical records to obtain necessary immunizations or immunization or medical records.

    • Help unaccompanied youth choose and enroll in a school, after considering the youths’ wishes, and provide youth with notice of their right to appeal an enrollment decision that is contrary to their wishes.

    • Ensure that unaccompanied youth are enrolled in school immediately pending the resolution of any dispute that may arise over school enrollment or placement.

    • Collaborate and coordinate with State Coordinators for Homeless Education and community and school personnel responsible for the provision of education and related services to children and youth in homeless situations.

Last Modified on Thursday at 10:51 AM