National Blue Ribbon Schools

  • The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle, and high schools where students achieve very high learning standards or are making notable improvements in closing the achievement gap.

    This coveted award affirms the hard work of educators, families and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging and engaging content. The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed recognition on more than 8,800 schools.

    All schools are honored in one of two performance categories, based on all student scores, subgroup student scores and graduation rates:

    • Exemplary High Performing Schools are among their state’s highest performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.
    • Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing Schools are among their state’s highest performing schools in closing achievement gaps between a school’s subgroups and all students over the past five years.

    Up to 420 schools may be nominated each year. The Department invites National Blue Ribbon School nominations from the top education official in all states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, the Department of Defense Education Activity and the Bureau of Indian Education. Private schools are nominated by The Council for American Private Education (CAPE).

    The Blue Ribbon Schools from Delaware:

School Town Year
Cedar Lane Elementary School Middletown 2018
Lake Forest South Elementary School Harrington 2018
Selbyville Middle School Selbyville 2018
East Millsboro Elementary School Millsboro 2017
Olive B. Loss Elementary School Bear 2017
Seaford Central Elementary School Seaford 2017
Christ the Teacher Catholic School Newark 2016
Dover Air Force Base Middle School Dover 2016
Newark Charter School Newark 2016
St John the Beloved School Wilmington 2016
Sussex Academy Georgetown 2016
Cape Henlopen High School Lewes 2015
Lake Forest East Elementary School Frederica 2015
W. B. Simpson Elementary School Wyoming 2015
The Academy of Dover Dover 2014
John M. Clayton Elementary School Frankford 2014
Lake Forest North Elementary School Felton 2014
The Charter School of Wilmington Wilmington 2013
Richard A. Shields Elementary School Lewes 2013
Allen Frear Elementary School Dover 2013
Linden Hill Elementary School Wilmington 2012
Harry O. Eisenberg Elementary School New Castle 2012
Star Hill Elementary School Dover 2012
West Park Place Elementary School Newark 2011
Long Neck Elementary School Millsboro 2011
  • Contact information

    John Hulse
    Education Associate, 21st CCLC and Title I Programs
    Delaware Department of Education


Last Modified on January 30, 2019